Living faith for your Children

I don’t know about you, but when I was a young parent, there were times when it scared me to death to think about what an awesome responsibility we had to rear our two precious children.  Just to think that God had entrusted them to us for a time to help, to guide, to provide opportunities for them to grow not only physically, emotionally, and intellectually but spiritually was a bit intimidating!  Well, I felt “fairly” confident we would handle the first 3 but spiritually??? I didn’t feel qualified to do that part well.  Honestly, I wanted our children to have a closer, more vibrant and real relationship with Christ than I did.  In the 1st chapter of the book, the author makes this statement, “The fact is, that we [parents] are living examples of what is real… what better way to have our children fall in love with Jesus than for us to be living testimonies of what that means.”  As I contemplated this, I had to ask myself, if my life is a living testimony of what Jesus means to me, what am I saying?   Was I ‘in love’ with Jesus?  What would that really look like for me?  Was there more to teaching them about God than reading Bible stories and singing ‘Jesus loves me’?  Hhmm, I think so.  Perhaps it is being willing to let them see first-hand how my faith directs the decisions I make in life.  To be willing to be vulnerable and live authentically in front of them so that they can see how God is at work changing my life.  It’s creating times and places in our home and lives where my children’s faith can grow. It’s teaching them how to pursue, develop, and nurture their love relationship with Jesus while I am cultivating my own with him.

I know I didn’t get everything right and my children can probably tell you just where I failed!  Although they are grown now, it’s not too late to live out my faith in front of them.   I’m still learning and growing more in love with Jesus every day and I want them to see how he is at work in me and when opportunities arise, to share with them what he has already done.

Sandra Bilbro

swbilbro@yahoo.com

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. De Hillyer
    May 20, 2013 @ 21:08:06

    Well stated, Sandra. The very fact that you cared and were concerned about how you lived and what you did or didn’t do right shows your commitment to Christ.

    Reply

  2. Tim
    May 20, 2013 @ 23:57:08

    Thank you for sharing Sandra! I think that being vulnerable in front of our children is one of the hardest things to do. We are supposed to be their protectors and guardians, how is it that we can do that and appear “weak” to them at the same time without causing confusion? It’s a fine line at times and requires a balancing act that I know that I struggle with.

    I’m curious as how others are dealing with this and what your thoughts are on navigating this tricky trail.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

